WordPress 2.5 in detail

WordPress 2.5 has been released and includes a huge number of changes over the WordPress 2.3 series. Rather than list the changes in detail which would probably take me some days to write out I offer the following statistics and information about the WordPress 2.5 release:

  • In development for 185 days (6 months 3 days to be precise).
  • Changes to 364 files with 54008 insertions, and 29136 deletions for more detail you can view the diffstat output.
  • Patches committed from over 110 different contributors.
  • Over 1300 individual changes made for more detail you can view a complete changelog.

If you want to read the more detailed blow-by-blow changes for WordPress 2.5 then I suggest you dig back through the archives on this site and read all the weekly digest posts covering WordPress 2.5.

These links should help you find them: posts tagged wordpress-2.4 and posts tagged wordpress-2.5.

92 thoughts on “WordPress 2.5 in detail

  1. Also, without a ‘Save and Continue’ button, it seems I just have to physically sit and wait until WP decides to do an auto-save before I can preview a post. Several times I’ve hit ‘Preview’ and the result is just not up to date.

    The alternative is to hit “Save”, then “Write”, then “View Drafts”, then select the draft I was working on, *then* click “Preview”. Ack.

  2. Does anyone know how to associate images with a current posts gallery that are either already uploaded to another post or gallery.
    In other words I know it adds the image to the posts gallery when you upload the image but what about already uploaded photos, and can an image be associated with multiple ‘gallery’s’. have I gone completely blind? ;)

    Thanks, greatly appreciated

  3. Peter, you say “The page slug is still there. When a page is autosaved it will appear under the title box for you to edit.” But I truly do not see it there. I could show you a screenshot and maybe you can tell me I’m crazy? I see nothing between the title box and the page content box other than wysiwyg buttons!

  4. Peter, just found the answer here: http://weblogtoolscollection.com/archives/2008/04/01/faq-on-wordpress-25

    “Q. How can I edit my Post slug or my Page slug?
    A. The Post (or Page) slug is now displayed as the Permalink under the Title field in writing or editing a Post or Page. If you are using the “Default” Peramlink Settings you will not see and can’t edit the Permalink. Only if you are using a ‘pretty Permalink’ (e.g. Month and name) in Settings->Permalinks will the Permalink be available for edit. When creating a new Post or Page, the Permalink field won’t show up until you complete the Title.”

  5. I am trying to use the auto plugin update and I get this:

    Fatal error: Cannot redeclare class pclzip in /home/dsquared/public_html/blog/wp-admin/includes/class-pclzip.php on line 162

    Should I just manually update the plugins or is there something else going on. I previously used the auto upgrade plugin to get new WP versions?

    Thanks!

  6. @Great Lake Boy: You must have a plugin that includes the same class – possibly a WordPress upgrade plugin? If so I think there is an update for that plugin available which fixes the issue.

  7. Oh duh that worked great. I was thinking the new way should have done that plugin too. However after manually upgrading the auto WP upgrader I was able to auto upgrade all the plugins.

    Thanks!

    G:L:B:

  8. Just did the upgrade myself, from WP 2.3.3 to 2.5. I like the improvements, but I don’t like the ‘step backwards’, which was done with the ‘Write new post/page’ interface!

    Instead of writing a 2 miles long comment, I’d like to ask you to read my thoughts (which I expressed already elsewhere) on the negative aspects of the new WP 2.5 Admin interface:

    1. My thoughts in my personal blog…

    2. …and in the WordPress forum

    Basically, it’s a couple of things only:
    1) Panels which are now located at the bottom of the ‘Write’ page, should go back almost all of them, back to the Sidebar. This reduces scrolling up and down, and a lot! They should be re-arrangeable, like before.
    2) Save & Publish buttons should be placed below the main text field in the ‘Write’ page, as this is the logical place for them.
    3) If 1 & 2 is not possible/easily done, please, allow users to create a special plugin, so they can make changes to the admin interface themselves! Currently, this is not possible — for example, I can change the Admin color scheme, but I can’t move the panels to the sidebar, as this will require editing of core files:(

    Thank you for listening! :-)

  9. 2.5 has made wordpress practically useless for me. Images will not upload, I have changed the htaccess file 20 times, upgraded the flash player and I still get :

    Fatal error: Call to undefined function wp_constrain_dimensions() in /home2/newyorka/public_html/wp-admin/includes/image.php on line 173

    every time I try to insert an image. My blog IS about photos. if I can’t upload any, it is useless. 2.3 was very good.
    Please help.

  10. @sage: That error looks like you have not got all the files uploaded to your server ok. wp_constrain_dimensions() is defined in /wp-includes/media.php so check you have that uploaded ok.

  11. Hey, there, Peter, I’m really liking the new version, but my question is the same as stevehofmeyr’s up there: can an image be associated with more than one gallery?

    For example, I used a photo in one post, but then wanted to add it to a gallery of photos in another post, but can’t figure out how to do it.

    I tried removing the single photo from the post, and then inserting it into the post with gallery, but that didn’t work, either. It sits apart from the other photos in the gallery. (Heh! It’s like they’re snubbing it!)

    I appreciate any help you can offer on this!

Comments are closed.