delays

Just a quick post to let you know that I’ve not disappeared or anything and the digest posts for the last couple of weeks will be ready soon.

We have been very busy trying to get WordPress 2.5 ready and as you may have heard we have had to slip the release by a week and we are currently aiming for a release next week. Hopefully we will be happy enough with the stability of the new features soon and a beta or release candidate version will be announce on the development blog.

Over and out.

24 thoughts on “delays

  1. I think the community–or at least me–is antsy to get out hands on it. That said I’m sure everyone can easily wait the week or two so that the team can make sure it’s perfect. Best of luck, and thanks for your hard work.

  2. I don’t mind the wait. I appreciate the effort all of you take with WordPress, how you’re all on top of things. I wanted to comment because perhaps I haven’t said it as often as I should, but WP is the best blogging program out there and that is because it has the best people working on it.

  3. There is an old axiom in engineering:
    Good, Fast, Cheap.
    Pick any two.

    You can have it good and cheap, but it won’t be fast.
    You can have it fast and cheap, but it won’t be good.
    You can have it good and fast, but it won’t be cheap.

    Speaking for all users I think, we would rather have good and cheap.

    So, work carefully and thoughtfully. Ignore the pressure for release dates. Let Microsoft and Apple adopt the “get it out there even if it’s not working” attitude.

    Keep up the good work! You are all very appreciated.

  4. Take your time sir. We wish you all the best for WordPress 2.5. Anyway, we are not in a hurry for the releasing of WP 2.5. Of course we want the best and we don’t want a release with too many bugs. :) So better take your time. Good Luck and I hope we could have the best WordPress 2.5

  5. looking forward to wordpress 2.5 because the trunk seems really great to me.. i really like the new features and layout for dashboard.. thanks for all your work! :)

    greetings,
    Sara

  6. No rush mon. That was a favorite saying of a good friend of mine and yes he was from Jamaica. He always put out quality work and good time and the funny thing was , none of his customers ever became impatient.

    Take your time and don’t try to stuff to many new features into this release. there’s no such thing as a be all and end all of anything you know. ;)

  7. I have just updated my blog to version 2.3.3 (I’m late at updates :) ) and so far so good. I don’t mind waiting for version 2.5.

    Great things come to those who wait.

    More power!

    Antonio Milo

  8. I just recently moved from blogger to wordpress and although still getting used to some things, I LOVE it. I’m not technical, so I’m getting help on some of the plugins etc., but once you get the hang of it, it’s quite easy to use and I love how my blog is looking! Thanks so much!! Carol

  9. take your time guys. I love wordpress so much I updated every latest.zip out there. I do not mind waiting for the best platform. As Don West above said, good and cheap. Heck, even if its not cheap, I buy one for sure :D

    We can wait. No problem. No pressure.

  10. I think it is great that you are doing your best to keep bugs out of the production release, even if this implies pushing the release date with one or two weeks. I am currently running your latest 2.3 release and I am looking forward to upgrading to 2.5, but only after it will show it’s stable enough for production!

    Keep up the good work!

  11. I’m not sure I’d want to load 2.5 immediately. I’m inclined to wait a while and see what bugs there are that other users find, and instal it after there is some track record of it in use.

Comments are closed.