WordPress weekly digest 14th January to 20th January 2008

It has been a busy week again for WordPress 2.5, the changes this week were:

  • Changes to the blogger importer to have a better statement of requirements (#5220).
  • Updates to get_sidebar() to allow for multiple named sidebars (#5615).
  • Removal of the redundant and slow check on $now in the SQL queries in get_lastcommentmodified() (#5650).
  • Changes to the url sanitisation to allow for parenthesis (#5668).
  • Fixes to url_to_postid() to ensure it doesn’t mangle the url it is trying to match (#5661).
  • Refactoring of the admin code to make the WP_User_Search class available to plugin authors (#5111).
  • Changes to wp_tag_cloud() to ensure that it returns the array if 'format=array' is specified (#5155).
  • Extensions to the html tags and attributes that kses will allow in posts (#5617).
  • Upgrade of the jQuery library to 1.2.2 (#5492).
  • Improvements to the plugin error detection code to ensure that the errors are correctly displayed (#5673, #5658).
  • Documentation updates for kses.php and pluggable.php (#5641, #5509).
  • Initial migration to TinyMCE v3.0 RC1 (#5674).
  • New functionality to allow for editing of post slugs within there permalink context (#5679).
  • Addition of more do_action calls to the xmlrpc functions (#5686).
  • Changes to the APP implementation to ensure that timestamps can be updated on already published posts (#5680).

For even more information on some of the other little changes that went in this week you can read the whole weekly trac timeline.

11 thoughts on “WordPress weekly digest 14th January to 20th January 2008

  1. Great work so far. The new TinyMCE’s media upload feature is a vast improvement over the current way of doing image uploads (among all the other improvements). I do need a bit of assistance though.

    I’ve been testing out the nightly builds on a local XAMPP setup (Windows) and while testing out the K2 RC4 theme with the latest build I’ve found a fairly major problem in using K2′s built in Sidebar Modules. It badly interferes with the new widgetized Dashboard. I understand this is not the place to post this but I’m not exactly sure where the appropriate place would be on the WordPress side of things. I’ve already posted about the problem on the K2 forum. I’m not a member of the testers mailing list (yet) and I don’t want to submit this to the wrong place so could you possibly guide me in the right direction here?.

  2. @Kirk: The best place to bring up that sort of issue is probably the K2 forum as I suspect it may need some updating once the new admin stuff is completed. There has also been talk of adding more functionality within WordPress to help plugin and theme developers develop more integrate admin pages which would help with things like this although that may not make it into this release.

  3. Thanks Peter, I’ve already done so and will keep on it. K2 has to be one of the most widely themes around. I’d just use widgets but when using several Text widgets in my sidebar and everyone of them named “Text” in the Admin can be a bit frustrating when searching for just one or two of them.

    Many thanks for these updates by the way!

  4. Thanks for all of the updates!

    I’m so glad to see the get_sidebar change as that’s a tweak I’ve been making in WP forever, it seems, and a suggestion I made ages ago that was never acted on.

    Now, if I could only get categories for Pages, I would be a very happy blogger.

Comments are closed.